Bucks takes the honours

A total of 32 Buckinghamshire residents were included on The Queen’s New Year Honours List.

These men and women have been recognised for outstanding work in supporting key services and communities, ranging from a commitment to voluntary services for young people to community support efforts during the Covid-19 pandemic.

Her Majesty’s Lord-Lieutenant of Buckinghamshire, The Countess Howe (pictured), said: ‘I proudly applaud the achievements of our honours recipients and thank them for their dedication. Their example is an inspiration to us all and they are richly deserving of this distinction.’

Gillian Owen-Conway BEM received her award for services to the community in Bucks. She has been a Samaritan for 15 years and taken on various roles, culminating in becoming a branch director. She was also a listener at Moreover.

She single-handedly runs the volunteer rota for the phone helpline at DrugFAM, ensuring that it is fully manned providing a regular 9am to 5pm service, plus additional hours until 9pm and then during weekends.

Ms Owen-Conway also works for the community in Great Missenden, where she helps run the village shop, ordering in supplies and ensure vulnerable residents are supported.

Vinodkumar Mashri Jeram Pankhania BEM received an award for services to the community in Milton Keynes.

This included building the first Hindu Community Centre in Milton Keynes, bringing together the wider community to celebrate the art and cultural heritage of India.

During the pandemic, he has used social media to conduct online prayer sessions and the equally important tradition of Bhajan singing to lift people’s spirits, reaching more than 10,000 views.

He also devised a community programme to provide meals, collect prescriptions and deliver essential shopping to those in need.

The Countess Howe added: ‘We all know that the world has been in turmoil, indeed none can escape the daily headlines, but despite being faced with enormous adversity, people in our communities have stepped up to deliver a whole range of Covid-19 related activity.

‘In the wider context, individuals have continued to achieve extraordinary things. In this county, service in fields ranging from the film industry, cyber security, education, business and sport, to support for young people, victims of domestic violence, burn injuries and disfigurement, the inclusion of women and diversity, and those with visual impairment has been absolutely exemplary.

Lady Howe added: “There are many unsung heroes in our midst so could I encourage you to consider nominating someone for a national honour. The Lieutenancy office can offer you guidance on how to do this.”

The complete list of the Bucks people in the 2022 New Year Honours List is:

Knights Bachelor, Knighthoods

Mr Jan Petrus Du Plessis: Executive Chairman, BT Group. For services to Telecommunications and business

Order of the British Empire, Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

Mr Martin John Coles: Chief Executive, Marine Society and Sea, Cadets. For services to Young People and Maritime Education

Mr Tanweer Ikram: Deputy Senior District Judge, Magistrates Court. For services to Judicial Diversity

Mrs Louise Anne Kingham OBE: lately Chief Executive, Energy Institute. For services to the Energy Industry

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Mrs Drusilla Maizey: Chair, NHS Business Services Authority. For services to the NHS

Mrs Lynne Elizabeth Morris JP: Chief Executive Officer, The Toybox Charity. For services to Children in the UK and Abroad

Mr Andrew Mark Smith: Director, Corporate Affairs, Pinewood Group Limited and Chair, Buckinghamshire Local Enterprise Partnership. For services to Business and the British Film Industry

Mrs Kate Elizabeth Sutton (Katie Piper): Founder, The Katie Piper Foundation. For services to charity and Victims of Burns and other Disfigurement Injuries

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Mr Matthew James Baker: Trustee, Children in Need. For charitable and voluntary services to Fundraising

Dr Baljinder Singh Dhanda: Co-Chair, UK Cyber Security Council Formation Project. For services to Cyber Security

Mr Ian Martin Elgeti: Forensic Manager, Thames Valley Police. For Services to Policing

Mr William John Griffiths: Director, Milton Keynes Museum. For services to Museums and to the community in Milton Keynes

Mrs Marilyn Hubbard: Chair of Trustees, Inspiring Futures through Learning Multi-Academy Trust, Milton Keynes. For services to Education

Mrs Emma Ruth Lindley: Co-Founder, Women in Identity. For services to promoting Diversity and Inclusion in the Digital Identity Sector in the UK and Abroad

Mr Christopher Mark Moore: Vice-Chair, Bletchley Park Trust and Chair, FightforSight. For charitable and voluntary services to Heritage and to Visually Impaired People

Mr Simon Christopher Aidan Morton: Deputy Chief Executive Officer, UK Sport. For services to Sport

Mr Ransford George Stewart: Director, Stewart Management and Planning Solutions. For services to Planning

Mrs Andrea Vincent: Chair MK-Act, Milton Keynes. For services to Victims of Domestic Abuse

Dr Norman Allan Waterman: For services to Materials, Manufacturing and Nuclear Engineering

Mr Peter John Wilson: Trustee, Milton Keynes Special Needs Advancement Project. For services to People with Educational Disabilities

Medallists of the Order of the British Empire (BEM)

Mrs Joanna Hilary Anderson: For services to the community in Winslow, particularly during Covid-19

Mr Terence Michael Bromilow: Chair, Marshall Milton Keynes Athletics Club. For services to Athletics in Buckinghamshire

Mr Christopher William Gibson Brown: For services to the community in Cholesbury-cum-St Leonards, particularly during Covid-19

Mr Hamaad Ali Karim: Student Mentor. For voluntary service to Students and the Wider Community during Covid-19

Mrs Rosemary Virginia O’Hagan: For services to the community in Bourne End and Wooburn, during Covid-19

Mrs Carol Mary Lister: For services to the community in Cheddington, particularly during Covid-19

Mrs Gillian Margaret Owen-Conway: For services to the community in Buckinghamshire

Mr Vinodkumar Mashri Jeram Pankhania: For services to the community in Milton Keynes.

Mrs Ruth Panther: For services to the community in Great Linford, Milton Keynes, during Covid-19

Mr Mark Ian Rann: For services to the community in Chesham during Covid-19

Mrs Khadijah Safari: Chief Executive Officer, Safari MMA. For services to Inclusion and Diversity in Martial Arts

Mrs Pamela Susan Gail Steed: For services to the community in Cheddington, particularly during Covid-19

The honours system recognises people who have made achievements in public life and committed themselves to serving and helping Britain. Potential nominees could be involved in charitable or voluntary activity, or be doing innovative work that makes a significant difference in the community.

The nomination process is simple using the government’s nomination website.